media posts banner eah housing

EAH Housing Scholarship Recipients 2017

EAH Housing Scholarship Fund Awards 10 New Students Entering College

EAH Housing is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 Rebecca W. Watkin Scholarship Fund! Scholarship awardees receive $2,500 per academic school year and continue to receive the award annually, contingent on academic performance. The funds help students cover the costs of tuition, textbooks and other academic supplies.

Current awarded students hail from a range of EAH Housing owned or managed affordable housing communities in California and Hawaii. Scholarship recipients are studying a range of subjects including Bioengineering, Criminal Justice, Pre-med, Chemistry, Food & Nutrition, Industrial Tech, Sociology, Psychology, Health & Human Services, and Political Science.

The EAH Housing Scholarship Fund was established in 2012, through generous donations from the late affordable housing advocate Rebecca Wood Watkin, the EAH Housing Board of Directors, numerous EAH staff and individual donors.

To date, a total of 66 students have been awarded, and more than $400,000 in scholarship aid has been disbursed to awardees.

Congratulations to the 2017-2018 EAH Housing Scholarship recipients!

  • Sheyla Castillo – Fresno County
  • Lian Huang – Honolulu County
  • Connie Cen – Honolulu County
  • Heaven Robinson – Contra Costa County
  • Leo Wu – Honolulu County
  • Lauriano Ramirez – Fresno County
  • Lila Vaiaoga – Alameda County
  • Destine Lamonia – Santa Clara County
  • Luzideth Sanchez – Fresno County
  • Sayed Sayer – Alameda County